Elsie Eyer Commitment to Underserved People (CUP) Award

The CUP award was established in 1999 through a generous endowment given by the Health Systems Agency of Southeastern Arizona (HSASA). HSASA was the designated health planning agency for Southeastern Arizona from 1973 until its closing in 1987. The CUP award created an opportunity to recognize persons or entities that demonstrated a sustained effort in assuring health services to the underserved in Arizona.

The CUP award became ‘The AzPHA Elsie Eyer CUP Award’ in 2015 in honor of Elsie Eyer, a long time Arizona public health leader in recognition of her years dedicated to the Association, public health and access to care throughout Arizona. The first AzPHA Elsie Eyer CUP Award was awarded in 2016.

  • 2000 | Gila Bend Health & Emergency Medical Services, Inc.

    • In recognition for exemplifying how a community with few or no resources, on a voluntary basis, assured the availability of health services to all residents of an underserved area for over 30 years.

  • 2005 | The Mobile Health Program at the University of Arizona Mel & Enid Zuckerman College of Public Health

  • 2006 | Susan Kunz

    • In recognition for her healthcare work with migrant works in Tucson, AZ

  • 2007 | Gail Brown & Jo Baron, St. Joseph’s Hospital (Phoenix)

    • In recognition for work with low-income and underserved breast cancer patients

  • 2008 | Phillip Mooseberry, DDS, St. Elizabeth’s Health Center

  • 2008 | Catherine Amiot, Mission of Mercy – Arizona

    • In recognition for her dedication to those who faced barriers to access services

  • 2009 | Marge Ebeling

    • In recognition of dedication and sustained effort in assuring the delivery of health services to underserved population in Arizona.

  • 2010 | Jonathan Lee-Melk, MD FAAP

    • In recognition of his vision, tireless efforts and commitment to pediatric care in Arizona

  • 2011 | Michelle Gross-Panico, Catholic Healthcare West & Chandler Regional Medial Center

    • In recognition for her work to increase dental care in Arizona and to be the first dental hygienist to establish a school based Affilated Practice Dental Clinic.

  • 2012 | Virginia Ward, Southwest Human Development

    • In recognition of the desire to serve at-risk and underserved Children and families in the public and private sector.

  • 2013 | ASU Southwest Interdisciplinary Research Center (SIRC)

    • In recognition of development of a culturally grounded and transdisciplinary approach to health interventions.

  • 2014 | David Dube

    • In recognition for his dedication to social equity through improvements to the built environment, which will increase access to healthy food and healthcare, and increase access to safe places for physical activity in underserved communities.

  • 2015 | Sister Adele O’ Sullivan

    • In recognition for her work in the homeless community which led her to found Circle the City, a 501(c)(3) public charity which brings together the energies of both public and private sectors to address the unmet needs of persons experiencing both homelessness and illness in the Phoenix area. Sister Adele O’ Sullivan has provided primary care for the homeless population for 20 years.

  • 2016 | Amanda Aguirre

  • 2017 | The Arizona Family Health Partnership (Bre Thomas CEO)

  • 2018 | Michal Goforth

  • 2019 | Haley Winterberg (see award photo)

  • 2020 | COVID-19 Pandemic: No Award

  • 2021 | Pearl Mao Tang, MD (awarded posthumously)

Elsie Eyer Commitment to Undeserved People (CUP) Award